Are You As Intelligent As You Think?


In a fast-paced world that celebrates knowledge and intellect, few people consider whether or not they are accessing their whole self. You are more than what you know. You are more than what you do. You have more to offer this world. But you won’t—if you rely on IQ alone. Instead, leave a greater impact on humanity and discover how fulfilling life can be by determining your SQ (spiritual intelligence).

Three types of Intelligence

The most prominent form of intelligence is intellectual intelligence (IQ). The second form of intelligence is emotional intelligence (EQ). And the third, lesser-known form, is spiritual intelligence (SQ). IQ and EQ make up the ego which is essentially everything you are aware of: your thoughts, memories, ideas, perceptions, emotions, etc. When SQ is processing at the same time as IQ and EQ, you are tapping into your soul or your true self. The soul is where you experience peace, wisdom, creativity, compassion, integrity, soul, and love. By learning how to overcome ego and understand the world through spiritual intelligence, you will experience greater mental clarity and your full potential as a human being.

A Deeper Look at Spiritual Intelligence

While intellectual intelligence gives us the ability to think rationally and logically, and emotional intelligence allows to interact with other people, spiritual intelligence brings balance to the two. We live with wisdom and compassion and experience peace no matter what’s happening around us when we access spiritual intelligence. Stephen Covey, the author of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People says, “Spiritual intelligence is the central and most fundamental of all the intelligences because it becomes the source of guidance for the others.” When we understand our spiritual intelligence, we gain a deeper sense of purpose as well as more meaningful relationships.

Spiritual Intelligence Assessment

Cindy Wigglesworth created an SQ Assessment that helps us identify 21 skills that encompass spiritual intelligence. The skills are divided into four succinct quadrants that help us define SQ:

  1. Higher Self / Ego self Awareness
  2. Universal Awareness
  3. Higher Self / Ego self Mastery
  4. Spiritual Presence / Social Mastery

As a member of the Seton Cove community, you can take this assessment and determine your level of development within each of the 21 skills. We believe your realization of spiritual intelligence will not only improve your personal growth but significantly impact your leadership potential. After you complete the assessment, your results will be emailed to you and you’ll be invited to participate in additional coaching with Patricia Speier, Spiritual Intelligence Certified Coach and Executive Director of Seton Cove. She’ll help you determine your practical next steps in order to strengthen the skills of spiritual intelligence.

Register for the SQ21 Assessment today and begin your journey to a more fulfilling life!